A Weave Is Not A Protective Style; It’s Just A Weave - See more at: http://madamenoir
A Rare Form of Hair Loss Becomes More Common
Hair loss is typically associated with aging, but an increasing number of people are losing hair and they are not in their “golden years.” Unfortunately I have seen many young women in there 20’s and early 30’s who are suffering from severe hair loss, especially in the crown of the head. Many women who have hair loss are not initially aware of it, particularly women who wear weaves on a consistent basis. It’s not until it becomes apparent to family and friends, excessive hair is seen in the shower or sink after a shampoo, or they finally take a good look in the mirror and actually touch their hair after two years of back to back weave styling (yes, many women don’t look at or touch their own hair in between weaves) that they realize something is seriously wrong. What’s even worse is that many women wait until most of the hair is gone before consulting with someone about it.
Many women have tried various ineffective home remedies before seeking help. The problem is there are several reasons for hair loss including a number of systemic causes and the use of medications. Therefore, we cannot assume that a topical application of an over-the-counter product that claims hair regrowth is the solution.
There is a rare form of alopecia that is now becoming more common. Central Centrifugal Cicatricial Alopecia (CCCA) is a form of scarring alopecia that occurs almost exclusively in African American women. This pattern of hair loss resembles the diffuse pattern linked to androgenic alopecia. The difference is with CCCA there is a complete obliteration of the hair follicles, a change in scalp texture and scar tissue that forms in the scalp, resulting in permanent hair loss. Symptoms of burning, itching and pain may accompany this form of hair loss that is typically located in the center of the scalp. The area involved is smooth and shiny and the remaining hairs in the area of the scarring are dry and brittle.The cause of CCCA is poorly understood but it involves inflammation of the hair follicle where the stem cells and sebaceous glands (oil glands) are located. Once this is destroyed there is no possibility of regeneration of hair cells. Although the exact cause of this alopecia is not known, certain factors have been implicated in the development of CCCA. These include, thermal straightening (using blow dryers and hot combs), traction or excessive tension on the hair, chemical straightening (relaxers) and infection. There is no conclusive evidence that determine these factors as causes, but we must discontinue certain hair care practices when we notice that it is affecting our hair and scalp.
Currently, there is no consistently successful treatment for CCCA. A dermatologist who can perform a scalp biopsy must confirm this diagnosis for your hair loss. Some treatments that have been used are topical anti-inflammatory agents, oral antibiotics, topical minoxidil treatments, intralesional steroids (injections) and hair transplant surgery. Again I caution, before trying one of these treatments consult with your physician or dermatologist to determine what may be most effective.
He's right.... 100% right. I believe Emperah had posted something a while back that said something similar and called my attention to it with my name in the title. When I find it, I will post the here too.
Here is the deal:
- 1. Black women should be free to wear their hair on their head as God created it. PERIOD!!
- 2. Black women should not have to straighten their hair, put in weaves and do other fake garbage just to earn a living and support dem pickney.
This applies whether it be in the corporate world, acting, as dancers, singers, reading the news, modelling or taking advantage of the lucrative opportunities offered in pageants.
- Do you know that Black women have been from hotel front desk job been for having naturals and braids?
- Did you see the Black women who was fired from her news job last year for having a natural and defending her right to have it?
- What about the Black flight attendants who were grounded for wearing African braids?
Kudos to Jamaican born purser Hyacinth Hope (Cindy Hope) who battled Air Canada and won that right to wear braids for Black flight attendants in Canada. She fought it through the union at great personal sacrifice and did not stop until she won.
- 3. Men, but especially Black men, should not be giving preference to bun up head women and women wearing these ridiculous looking horses tails fastened to their heads.
I stopped straightening my hair when I was 20 as soon as I became conscious. I did not straighten it again until the economy took a nose dive and I had to take advantage of every opportunity available to support myself and my son.
Was I bitter about it..hell yes...I still am. I spent years begging for the Black community to support me on this. I pleaded call and write letters to producers, sponsors, news broadcasters, and advertisers. Stop buying their products, don't go see their movies, and make their lives a living hell until they allow us as Black women to be who we are BLACK women with the hair God put on our head.
It was a losing battle and I could no longer afford the hit to my pocket book. I leave this battle to another generation who I hope will have more success than I did.
But to come back to your question...hell yes Tommy is right on the money. The only thing I disagree with him on his bitterness towards dark skinned women. Not sure which dark skinned woman peed in his corn flakes but that is a whole other thread.
... but erm, Tropicana, black men in particular love *those* women with light skin, and tall hair so they can feel proud a dem chirren. nevermind the women who begat them... that what they want... black women are the forgotten tribe to black men. look around.
Originally posted by Suesumba View Post... but erm, Tropicana, black men in particular love *those* women with light skin, and tall hair so they can feel proud a dem chirren. nevermind the women who begat them... that what they want... black women are the forgotten tribe to black men. look around.
For all the platitudes about wanting natural sisters, I have seen it time and time again. Most Black men will if given a choice gravitate towards the light skinned woman with long hair, wearing NUFF make up, and skimpy clothing.
Reminds me of when I was in Barbados a couple of years ago. Went out dancing with a couple of colleagues. This guy came along with whom I had worked. He had a guy with him from Toronto who was visiting. The guy never even fart pon me or any of the other Black women. Went straight for the light skinned long haired woman...and this happens more often than not.
If Black women straighten their hair and put in horses tail it's because that gets the attention of men and is what is needed to get work in some instances.
I have an appointment with a prospective client next week. It was booked too late for me to blow dry my hair. May as well not even bother going but I will do it just to report back what happens.Last edited by Tropicana; 10-05-2013, 12:59 AM.
Originally posted by Emperah View Postif yuh a bunn fiyah pan weave wearing ooman den yuh haffi bunn fiyah pan ooman who creme dem head caz dem is one is de same, none is betta den de odda one
NO NOT ONE!
No I am not going to bun fiyah on women who relax their hair. I wish we didn't have to. Like it or not, if a Black woman wants to have opportunities as a model, TV reporter, actress, pageant contestant, and even at times in the business world, it will definitely be more challenging with natural hair. I've paid my dues and until things change, I am not going to suggest that other women should also take a serious hit to their pocketbook like I did. It's their choice if they want to do it but they have to be prepared to deal with the price they will have to pay in terms of lost opportunities.
Anyway. I am going to meet a prospective client for the first time with wash and wear hair in along time. Let's hope I don't have the same problems as the other times I did it.Last edited by Tropicana; 10-06-2013, 01:01 AM.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostFi de las time, women don't cream dem hair anymore. They relax their hair. Here is the difference:
So creme nuh use again fi de relaxing a de hair?
So how it work now den ar is jus terminology unno a use different now?
As I said b4 in odda places roun here, you have a chice if yuh feel seh is betta fi mek oddaz mek de chice fi yuh den don't stawt dem kinda poas an tell wi any fawt bout yuh haffi dweet, unno is not pickney anymore
Originally posted by Emperah View Postreally now?
So creme nuh use again fi de relaxing a de hair?
So how it work now den ar is jus terminology unno a use different now?
Originally posted by Emperah View PostAs I said b4 in odda places roun here, you have a chice if yuh feel seh is betta fi mek oddaz mek de chice fi yuh den don't stawt dem kinda poas an tell wi any fawt bout yuh haffi dweet, unno is not pickney anymore
Easy to say when you are not the one feeling it in the pocketbook. Black men are pretty well able to do what they like with their hair without being denied job opportunities...I'll grant you, some job opportunities are denied with locks and this happens in the Caribbean too.
Grant it there are some improvements. I have been seeing TTC employees with locks. A couple of guys cleaning subway cars, a woman changing lightbulbs... and just a couple of days ago a ticket collector. They told me that promotions are still a challenge. I think being in a unionized environment helps. For examples, the unions were instrumental in helping flight attendants. I have yet to see a flight attendant, mail or female with locks. I understand Air Jamaica had a pilot with locks.
Magic, any comments on this? You see far more flight attendants than any of us and from many airlines.
So to simply say do whatever you like with your hear is highly simplistic. There are consequences to doing what you like with your hair. I lived with them for most of my adult life. As you love pointing outI am no pickney. How DARE you accuse me of taking the easy way out. I fought this battle for YEARS when there were few women in Toronto wearing natural hair. It's changing now. Let some other women fight this battle for a change. I have done MORE than enough work for one person.
Don't fight with me, fight with the producers, advertisers, sponsors, and employers.Last edited by Tropicana; 10-06-2013, 10:21 PM.